Flea Market

Ever since I was a child I have loved nick-nacks. There was always something so satisfying about collecting and arranging my collection into neat little displays. I think that is why the flea market has always had such an appeal to me, after all, what is it but booth after booth of collections of nick-nacks and trinkets arranged in pains-taking displays. One could look for hours and still find some new little trinket or detail in a single booth. I remember garagesaling in Oregon a number of years back and we came across this one house where a woman was selling stuff from a barn packed to the gills with junk (the good kind:). I asked to use her bathroom and found a masterpiece of nick-nack displays inside. Her house was a shrine to forgotten and discarded treasures fit together with such attention to detail and care, it was a miracle of clutter. I could have spent the rest of the afternoon walking around just looking at everything (and I realize that that sounds just a little bit creepy). So, here is my photo tribute to the beauty of junk.

6 comments on “Flea Market

  1. Gigi says:

    You can find some treasures in places like that – it’s fun!

  2. josie mara says:

    Amazing ! I also love places like that with all kinds of odd and old items ! Where is this one ? I’d like to go with you next time !
    The photos are really interesting Alais ; I think you should try a course on photo journalism and write for magazines using your own pics.

  3. seabeegirl says:

    I love Flea Markets! So many things to look at and treasures to find! 😀

Leave a Reply

