Yay Me!!!!!

A photo essay of mine got published in an on-line magazine called Queen Bee Collective!!!!! This is my first time getting published so I’m pretty excited:D Check it out! I’m sure you’ll recognize some of the photos…

http://www.queenbeecollective.com/color-through-the-cold

I wanted to put some photos I took recently but am having computer issues (wordpress doesn’t “see” my recently uploaded pictures. Does anyone know why?) so, instead here is a picture of a spider we happened upon in the fall. My daughter and I were on a walk and she was in the middle of the sidewalk moving very sluggishly, looking, perhaps, for a place to lay her eggs?  I’ll be honest with you, when I see a spider I get that tingling at the back of my neck and I have to resist the urge to brush the imaginary spider away, but I think my mild discomfort (well-controlled fear) with spiders feeds into my fascination with them. They seem such alien, unfathomable, threatening creatures and are beautiful in their strangeness. Not like centipedes, they’re just plain old creepy (stomp, stomp!).

We used this leaf to move her gentle to the side of the walkway where we hope she found a safe place to stash her eggs for the winter. This spider is very common here and not poisonous though I’m sure she would bit out of self-defence. The markings on her back are so pretty, no? I like the way she shows up against the red of the leaf. I’m pretty sure this is an orb-weaving spider.

5 comments on “Yay Me!!!!!

  1. Gigi says:

    Super cool spider. Nice picture.

  2. Congratulations. You should be pleased.

  3. josie mara says:

    Congratulations Alais !!!!!!! I`d like to see what they published !!! And this spider photo is awesome !!!!!!! I saw those same spiders this Fall while on a walk in White Rock . I also have somewhat of a fascination for them !
    Have a great day !!!!

  4. Yay you! Congratulations! I’m jumping up and down for you in my heart. Great photo, the colours are stunning!

Leave a Reply

