Pieces of the City that we carry as we Walk

Angel and Fallen Soldier downtown Vancouver

12 comments on “Pieces of the City that we carry as we Walk

  1. id love to go to vancouver – your photos are stunning

  2. Wonderful – my fave shot is that one of the woman in the blue top surrounded by activity and looking so lonely.

  3. ribana12 says:

    Beautiful pictures!

  4. josie mara says:

    Hi Alais , By chance , again , I found your photos !!!!! Just to let you know that I love the way you express what you see ! You find and make the most mundane , intriguing , possessing a touch of mystery [ like the man with the red scarf ] . I think it’s the poet in you that makes inconsequential objects , places or people [ no one is inconsequential of course but they may appear that way unless we go beyond the facade ] reveal their meaningfulness , their mistique . Very interesting work !!!!!!!!

  5. Wow, this is what I call real talent. I always look for beauty, even in my 1980s suburb full of boxlike houses, and I can see that you do too.

    • Thank you for the compliment, Jenny. Yes, I always feel I have accomplished something if I manage to draw beauty out of the mundane or ugly. I really enjoyed looking at your blog. The jewelry that you create is amazing!

  6. Jennifer says:

    The angel/fallen soldier is so eerie to me because my town has a statue almost identical to it! I will have to get a photo of it and post sometime this week. I’ll link back to this post, if you don’t mind. Kinda jarred me seeing it. I’ve always thought the one in my town was so creepy. It was one of the first things I noticed when I moved here.

    • I would love to see the similar statue from your city! Link back by all means! I find it to be kind of beautiful and sad, there is a peacefulness about it that seems so at odds with the busy downtown atmosphere.

  7. […] If you click on the above image, which belongs to alaisfairlight, it will take you to the original post, Pieces of the City ¬†that we carry as we Walk. ¬† […]

Leave a Reply

